saint-erin's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Coffee rant...

My roommates are officially moved out! I have the entire place to myself for the next few weeks until mads moves in. It's now my 3 day weekend and I'm going crazy trying to get stuff done. My apt looks crazy. It's pretty much empty. I went dumpster diving and found an awesome bookshelf and some great floating wall shelves. I just primed them and will be painting them white. I made a small side table that is turning out nicely. It just needs one more coat of paint. Tomorrow I'm going to start making the kitchen table and some benches for it. I also need to finish a cabinet I started.

Since moving to Texas I've spent the last year and a half remodeling my parents old house with my dad. It's been such a wonderful experience. It's about an hour drive to the old house. We talk for the first half hour then listen to radiolab for the rest of the drive. I'm so grateful that I have had these drives to really get to know him better. My Dad is a very quiet and private person and he has really opened up to me lately. We've had so much fun learning new things together. We replaced all the flooring in the house ourselves. Neither of us knew how to do this. We spent so many hours on our hands and knees covered in floor leveling cement trying to get things level. I designed the kitchen and we installed the cabinets. We replaced part of the ceiling. That was by far the worst part. We rebuilt the stairs to the second floor, replaced the door frames and baseboards and made a mantel and fireplace surround. He has given me so many cool tools. I have quite the tool collection these days. I need to tell my parents I love them more often.

10:31 p.m. - 2012-07-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

kindbegger
lovaliss
bikeride
helian
virtu
nations
ellamae
troymccool
damnstraight
suffa-kate
freightcars
miobravo
msea
zoodude
rupeshow
mymess
jpop
adelie
panzuda
thebid
chrisalmond
leotard
cannet